An appeal to stop with S1.

I have been watching Korean Dramas (only) for a while and I cite this as a reason for my absence from the blogosphere. A recent incident put me off Kdramas for a while, a day, and I turned to my old comforts. Now Kdramas do not inspire me to write much, or maybe they do, by instilling a crazy obsession to force everyone else on the six degree line of sight to watch something that I thoroughly enjoyed, by writing a review. But that is not the kind of inspiration in line with this blog’s theme. My blog’s theme has been about random long sentences which, the right person following the right trends in the pop culture, will find funny-ish. P G Wodehouse inspired me first to align my blog this way, and so has Amy Sherman Palladino. I do not know anything about her at all, but I am thankful to her for Gilmore Girls and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, especially for how both the shows influence me to write, tapping into the humorous side I believe I have.

Long sentences and long paragraphs but not getting to the point straight. That is my jam, as they say. I have this tendency mostly because I write once in a blue moon and I tend to mix everything I had been itching to write about, and in the process misplace one joke here and an anecdote there. Seriously, very little thought goes into writing this blog which no one really reads. Anyhow, the point of this post is another rant, this time about how social media- wait, I know you snoozed off right at that point, so I need to phrase it in a more honest way.

I am so sick and tired of these OTT platforms coming up with shows left and right with no quality control and with an obscenely obvious motive to keep the viewers hooked to the shows, like an addiction. I recently finished a Korean Drama series which I had high hopes for, but completely fooled me. Now I have decided that I will not talk negative about any creative venture, maybe at least in no more than 256 characters. So I will not give you the name nor the million things that went wrong with it. But the show at least got me pissed about how everything, right from the social media to the OTT platforms controls what we spend our time on.

if I were these big corporations I would just say Dude, just do not watch these things, no gun is pointed at you. No excuse me, but there is- the gun of peer pressure. One needs to be updated about trends and stuff to hold a conversation because face it, no one really has intelligent discussions anymore.

Ouch.

I was up all night scrolling through Instagram. I was scrolling through BTS videos. I turned a BTS fan in a very short time, but I do not really think it is because of their singing, or even because of their looks. I really believe they owe a lot to their fans too as well, for constantly creating content speculating and highlighting their every move, every gaze, every single aspect of their life, giving them nicknames, endearing them to any newbie by pointing out their most cute traits, constantly keeping multiple conversations going, even in their complete absence.

How did I get here? Oh yes, I was talking about how I got sucked into wasting my time on keeping up to date with the popular culture. I am not badmouthing them, seriously, this is a reflection on my own vulnerability and lack of self control. I am so scared of my own thoughts and I have numbed myself with these shows and celebrity news while holding myself together to get through each day in this weird place where sun never comes out. This got me thinking. See, my Instagram was initially about these random clicks, then it became a record of my favourite books and TV shows, and then became an ad account for Korean Dramas. Now I will defend the ability of Korean Dramas to heal, to my last breath. I have nothing against them. But for me the main charm they held was in their compact nature and predictability. Bundle of joys, bundled into 16 episodes which left us with some closure. But lately they started with Season 2 trend, and I, for one, know that just like Reviewer 2, A Season 2 will never have good things to say (I would never have made this joke if I was not in the habit of mindlessly scrolling through PhD memes on Instagram)

Please stop with these cliffhangers, I beg of you. Or else you leave me no choice but to go back to books.

You know, like Game of Thrones.

Say you loved the post. don't be shy.